Kake-Mamori – A Japanese pouch

Standard

Sharing this so that I don’t lose this. A great largesse idea….

Aveline's Sewing Adventures

Kake-mamori - a Japanese pouch Kake-mamori – a Japanese pouch

Recently I had the pleasure of making a gift for the Northshield A&S Gift Exchange.  The lady assigned to me has a Japanese persona… something I know absolutely nothing about!  After some research and choosing and discarding several different possible projects, I finally realized something about all the pictures of Japanese women that I had been looking at.  None of them – whether SCAdian or scans of medieval artwork – had a pouch or basket of any sort! I posed the question “What would a proper Japanese woman use to carry her stuff?” to the folks on the SCA Japanese Persona Facebook page.  NAME suggested a kake-mamori and offered this link: I followed the directions given on WHO’s webpage pretty close; however, I did make a few changes.  As the person this gift was intended for had stated that she likes “bright colors”, but I…

View original post 260 more words

Leave a Reply

